Hide your tracks

Please note, it may not be possible to hide your tracks completely. If you want to be certain that no-one can track you online, the safest way to access the internet is by using someone else’s device, for instance a computer at the local library, a trusted friend’s phone or laptop, or your computer at work (if appropriate).

While you are using this site

If you are worried that someone else might see your computer screen while you are looking at this site, and you do not want them to see what you are looking at, there are two ways to hide the site quickly:

  1. Click “Leave this site” at the top right of the page, underneath the purple menu bar. This will take you to BBC News.
  2. Use a keyboard shortcut to close the browser window entirely:
    1. Windows/Linux: ALT key and F4 or CTRL and F4
    2. Apple Macintosh: Apple Key and W

You could also:

  1. Open another browser window and leave it open at another website
  2. Place it behind the CRCC window you are currently using
  3. This way, when you close the main window, the other window will appear and you won’t be left with a blank screen

After visiting our website

Whenever you use the Internet, your computer stores information about all the sites you look at, such as searches you have performed, and the times and days that you were looking at different sites. If you want to try to minimise the information stored about your Internet activities, there are two main ways to do this.

  1. The first is to use ‘privacy’ mode. Each browser type has a different name for it. If you open a new window using this mode, the pages that you look at won’t be stored in your browser’s history or your search history once you have closed the window. However, if you download any files or save any bookmarks, these will stay visible on your computer and it won’t hide the information from your employer, Internet service provider or any websites you visit.
  2. The second is to clear your Internet history after visiting our site, which will remove most of the data stored on your computer, phone or tablet. Depending on the browser you are using, you can delete information about one specific site, or all of the browsing history on the device. Please note that doing this might be noticed by anyone else who also uses your computer. For example, if you share your computer with someone else and they use websites that require passwords, clearing the cookies on your computer will also clear their saved passwords.

You can choose to clear your Internet history as well as using ‘privacy’ mode, if you would like. The links below tell you how to open ‘privacy’ mode and how to clear Internet history for the main types of browsers.

If you have any reason to be concerned about your safety and/or privacy, please note that it may still be possible for someone with technical skills to work out which sites you have visited after using both ‘privacy’ mode and clearing your history. Neither of these solutions can help if someone has installed spyware on your computer, so it is still best to use an alternative device where you can.

 

Web Browsers:

Microsoft Internet Explorer: Clear history / InPrivate Browsing

Mozilla Firefox: Clear history / Private Browsing

Safari: Clear history / Private Browsing

Google Chrome: Clear history / Incognito mode

Opera: Clear history / Private window